Arrested for Drug Paraphernalia in Mississippi?
Another common drug offense that carries similar penalties is possession of drug paraphernalia, which is also a misdemeanor.
The reason this charge is so common in Mississippi is because almost anything can be considered paraphernalia, including cellophane wrappings, small zip lock bags, kitchen scales, and rolling paper.
Penalties for Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
Using or possessing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor in Mississippi, and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
This does not apply to individuals convicted of possession of 30 grams of marijuana, approximately one ounce or less; in that case the possession punishment would be the only penalty.
Penalties for Sale of Drug Paraphernalia
Selling drug paraphernalia in Mississippi is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a $500 fine or up to 6 months in jail. Additionally, selling paraphernalia to a minor is punishable up to $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail.
It is illegal to advertise the sale of paraphernalia in any print or electronic publication. The penalty for such activity is a fine of up to $500 and/or 6 months in jail.